Roman Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

chairman statement - "digs"!

+2
Steve Whites Missus
Dodgycarpet
6 posters

Go down

chairman statement - "digs"! Empty chairman statement - "digs"!

Post by Dodgycarpet Sat Jan 25, 2020 7:39 am

in the press release our chairman states "Student accommodation remains much needed in Bath, and the more we can create purpose built facilities, the less local housing will be taken over as “digs.”  Love the old skool expression used here - "digs"!
On a serious note - I agree it SHOULD reduce the demand on family homes being turned into student houses, bit DOES it?
The council has never given a satisfactory answer that confirms student numbers wont just go up in line with accommodation capacity in the city.  Until it does make such an assertion in conjunction with the universities then as a local resident I say we shouldn't allow any more student blocks.  As a supporter I want it approved. Dilemma.
Anyway off up the M4 now!

Dodgycarpet

Back to top Go down

chairman statement - "digs"! Empty Re: chairman statement - "digs"!

Post by Steve Whites Missus Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:19 am

No it doesn’t. The owners of the houses don’t want to lose their multiple occupancy allowance they have been granted as this is a good earner for them.
If you speak with the letting agencies in the city they’ll tell you the ‘freeing up houses’ claim is tosh...

Steve Whites Missus

Back to top Go down

Post by LB Sat Jan 25, 2020 2:07 pm

New student blocks probably don't free up many existing HMOs, and some of them wouldn't be suitable as 'family' homes anyway because of the way they have been converted, e.g. 2 bed terraces now having 6 rooms etc. What they might hopefully do though is prevent more houses being lost to HMOs which is probably the best that can be hoped for.

LB

Back to top Go down

Post by SASCHA Sat Jan 25, 2020 5:49 pm

Where can I view this statement ?
Please

SASCHA